How Ademola Adeleke Wins Osun Election

News Politics

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Senator Ademola Adeleke, Peoples Democratic Party’s candidate, the winner of the Osun governorship election.

Adeleke scored 403,371 votes to beat the incumbent, Governor Adegboyega Oyetola of All Peoples Congress, who got a total of 375,027 votes.

Consequently, Adeleke beats Oyetola with 28,344 votes.

In addition, out of the 30 local governments in Osun state, Adeleke won in 17 while Oyetola was victorious in 13.

Also, 1,955,657 people registered to vote in the state while 1,479,595 Permanent Voter Cards were collected ahead of the election.

To enhance security during the election, the Inspector-General of Police, Usman Baba Alkali, deployed 21,000 policemen to the state.

Other security agencies participated in the election including the military, Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, and so on.

However, there were reports of immense vote buying when the election was going on.

Share This Story: